Volta NPP secretary: Let’s change the face of our politics

Joseph Worlanyo Homenya, the incumbent secretary of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the Volta Region, is asking party members to transform the face of politics in the region.

“We need to redefine the rule and change the face of doing politics in the region,” he said in an interview with Asaase News.

Homenya said the party has been poorly handled over the years, prompting his bid to now become the chairman of the party in the region.

“I can tell you on authority that what we are witnessing today in the Volta Region is not the kind of party our forbearers have left for us,” he said ahead of the party’s regional delegates conference scheduled to take place on (27 May).

The outgoing secretary, popularly known as Wallas said: “We are here to work for the people and we cannot continue the intimidation, the wickedness, the selfishness of people” because “our party is a growing party, our party in the Volta Region is an emerging party and we need everybody on board.”

He said when given the chance to man the affairs of the Volta NPP he would work towards “bringing everybody on board to break the eight”.

Homenya added that “as soon as I am given the mandate, I am going to put up a government-party relationship committee that will make sure that all that has happened in the past will not repeat itself.”

Homenya is contesting the chairmanship with the incumbent, Makafui Kofi Woanya and former deputy Volta regional minister, Rev. Johnson Avuletey.

Meanwhile, there’s an emerging uproar among party folks over disqualification of some aspirants.

Below is the list of qualified candidates:

1. Makafui Kofi Woanyah
2. Pastor Johnson Kwame Avuletey
3. Joseph Homenya

1st Vice Chairman
1. Ken Ayim
2. Rev Joseph Kwaku Wilberforce
3. Abdallah Mohammed Sadiq

2nd Vice Chairman
1. Fiakpui Ronald Kodzo Kaykay
2. Kwadekpo Richard Mawufemor K.
3.Allan Kwesi Doegah
4. Steve Dela Klu

1. Pope Yao Yevoo
2. Dr. Prince Sodoke Amuzu
3. Amegbletor Enoch Kwabla
4. Kwasi Apea Fenteng

Assistant Secretary
1. Samuel Attachie-Anku
2. Dunyo Patrick Etsey
3. George Senyo Kojo Dogbey
4. David Akpabli

1. Wisdom Gakpo

1. Korsi Bodja

Women Organiser
1. Afi Agyagbo Rejoice
2. Hannah Ashade
3. Mabel Amegbletor

Youth organizer
1. Emmanuel Quarshie
2. Israel Godsway Mekpa
3.Destiny Prince Tettey

Nasara Coordinator
1. Mudashiru Adebayor
2. Abdulai Kamila
3. Suala Abdulai

The following persons have been disqualified for various reasons:

1. Albert Kweku Bediako
2. Josephine Selassie Aku-Sika Boateng
3. Prince Shelter Adjorlolo
4.Christo Wisdom Klutse
5. Kofi Agrah
6. Markson Korku Seayor
7. Zain-UL-Abideen Suleman

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button